Independent review

How to Take Yu Sleep

Yu Sleep's label and vendor pages give clear directions for taking the drops; our Yu Sleep review covers what is actually in them and what buyers report, and this page walks through the directions themselves and checks them against the research. The serving is 2 mL, or two full droppers, from a 60 mL bottle that holds about 30 servings, so one bottle covers roughly a month at one serving a night. What follows is exactly what the vendor says to do, how long it says results should take, where that timing runs against the sleep studies, and the mistakes buyers and the vendor's own pages flag most often.

What the label and vendor say to do

The vendor's own instructions, given on the sales page and refund page, are: fill two full droppers (2 mL total), put them in your mouth (under the tongue is best, though anywhere in the mouth works), hold for thirty seconds without rushing, then swallow, thirty minutes before bed. The refund page spells out the hold step in the vendor's own words: "Squeeze two full droppers into your mouth. Under your tongue is best, but anywhere in your mouth works. Hold it for thirty seconds. Count slowly. Don't rush it. Then swallow." That hold-and-swallow step is the vendor's own definition of the "30-second cherry trick" advertised in the ad; the trick is not a home remedy, it is simply the direction for taking the product.

In short, the full routine is:

  1. Fill both droppers to the 2 mL line.
  2. Squeeze the drops into your mouth, ideally under the tongue.
  3. Hold them there for thirty seconds without rushing.
  4. Swallow.
  5. Do this once, thirty minutes before you go to bed.

A 60 mL bottle holds about 30 servings, so at one serving a night it lasts roughly a month before a refill is needed. For the disclosed doses behind that single serving, melatonin at 0.9 mg, vitamin B6 at 0.5 mg and vitamin B2 at 0.5 mg, plus the seven ingredients inside an undisclosed 637 mg blend, see our Yu Sleep ingredients page for the full table.

How long before it's supposed to work

Yu Sleep's own pages don't agree with each other on this: the sales headline promises results the very first night, while the vendor's own refund page tells buyers the real change usually shows up "somewhere between weeks two and four," not on night one or two. The VSL headline states plainly that "most people sleep 6 to 7 hours straight the very first night they try it." The refund page says the opposite in almost the same words: "most people report the real change somewhere between weeks two and four. Not nights two and four." Those two vendor pages are describing the same product and directly contradict each other; this page does not resolve that contradiction in either direction. A third vendor claim sits above both: the site separately says "full restoration" takes "3 to 6 months of consistent use," a timeline no trial of Yu Sleep, or of its exact ingredient combination, has tested. Before asking for a refund, the vendor's own policy asks buyers to try the product "21 nights in a row" and answer four questions; see our Yu Sleep refund page for that process in full and what buyers say about it.

Where the timing doesn't match the studies

Melatonin is the one ingredient in Yu Sleep with both a stated dose and real research behind it, and it is also where the vendor's own timing instruction runs against that research: dose-response studies find melatonin works best taken about three hours before bed, while Yu Sleep directs taking it thirty minutes before. Our melatonin in Yu Sleep page covers the full evidence and dose breakdown; the timing point alone comes from a 2024 study, where Cruz-Sanabria and colleagues found that melatonin's effect on sleep onset and total sleep time rises with the dose, peaking around 4 mg a day, and that taking it earlier, about three hours before bed, predicted a shorter time to fall asleep than taking it closer to bedtime. Yu Sleep's label states 0.9 mg of melatonin per 2 mL serving, well under that 4 mg peak, taken 30 minutes before bed rather than the roughly 3 hours the research points to.

The thirty-second hold the vendor's own "trick" depends on has a plausible mechanism, even if it is unverified for this product: in a 2016 review, Zetner and colleagues found that melatonin held in the mouth (transmucosal absorption) can reach the blood at higher levels than melatonin swallowed straight down, though no study has tested Yu Sleep's own formula this way. Never take the vendor's "nano-technology for 99% absorption" claim as confirmed; it is not on the label, and no published data support it.

The rest of the formula shows a similar mismatch between the serving size and the research it borrows from.

Ingredient What the studies used What Yu Sleep gives per serving
Melatonin Benefit rises with dose to about 4 mg/day; earlier timing (about 3 hours before bed) predicted faster sleep onset 0.9 mg, taken 30 minutes before bed
Tart cherry (red tart cherry juice concentrate) 30 mL concentrate twice daily (Howatson 2012) or 240 mL juice twice daily (Losso 2018) Whole 2 mL serving, with the cherry's own share not disclosed inside a 637 mg blend

Seven of the ten listed ingredients, including the tart cherry, sit in that undisclosed 637 mg "Proprietary Blend" with no individual amount stated, so none of their doses in Yu Sleep can be checked against a study dose at all.

Common mistakes

A few things buyers and the vendor's own pages flag as mistakes:

  • Swallowing the drops right away instead of holding them for 30 seconds, which skips the under-the-tongue absorption route the vendor's own "trick" and instructions rely on.
  • Expecting results the first night, when the vendor's own refund page sets the real timeline at weeks two to four, directly contradicting the sales headline.
  • Stopping before the recommended 21-night trial, which is also what the vendor asks buyers to complete before requesting a refund.
  • Judging a 30-day, one-bottle supply against the vendor's separate claim of "3 to 6 months" for full effect, a claim no product trial has tested.
  • Assuming the undisclosed 637 mg blend is dosed like the studies, when 7 of the 10 ingredients have no stated amount at all on the label.
  • Combining it with other sleep aids, alcohol or medications without checking interactions first, covered in the next section.

Combining Yu Sleep with other supplements or medications

Several ingredients in the blend carry real interaction warnings, even though the label gives no amounts to weigh them against. Our Yu Sleep side effects page covers the full ingredient-by-ingredient safety picture and who should avoid it entirely; this section only flags the interactions relevant to how the product is taken. 5-HTP, one of the seven undisclosed ingredients, may contribute to serotonin syndrome in excess, and researchers including Turner and colleagues advise against combining it with antidepressants or other serotonergic medicines, and with carbidopa. Melatonin, the one dosed ingredient with a safety record, should only be used under medical supervision alongside blood thinners or by people with epilepsy; a 2019 study by Foley found that antihypertensive drugs can change melatonin levels, and a separate 2015 review by Harpsoe found the same for fluvoxamine, caffeine, smoking and oral contraceptives. Melatonin has not been researched in pregnancy or breastfeeding, and children should only take it with a healthcare provider's guidance.

Magnesium glycinate, also in the blend, is one to space apart from oral bisphosphonates and from tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, and the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements advises caution with impaired kidney function. Apigenin's source is not stated on the label; if it comes from chamomile, the usual chamomile cautions apply, including a ragweed-family allergy, warfarin, drugs metabolized by the liver, birth-control pills and sedatives. One buyer in the readable reports we reviewed described developing a cherry allergy after about a month of use. The drops are also sweetened with medium invert syrup and erythritol, with no sugar amount declared on the label, so they are not a fit for anyone strictly avoiding sugar.

Bottom line

The instructions themselves are simple to follow; where they get shakier is the promised timeline, which the vendor's own pages contradict, and the timing of the one ingredient with real research behind it, which runs earlier than that research suggests works best. Whether any of this actually stops 3 AM wakeups is a separate question from how to take the product, and it is answered on that page. For everything else, including what 14 buyers told us and how the full ingredient list checks out, read our full Yu Sleep review.

Frequently asked questions

How much Yu Sleep do you take, and when?

2 full droppers (2 mL), held in the mouth (under the tongue is best) for 30 seconds, then swallowed, 30 minutes before bed. That is the vendor's own direction, given on its sales page and refund page.

Does it matter if you swallow the drops right away instead of holding them?

The vendor's instructions specifically say to hold the drops for 30 seconds before swallowing. That hold is meant to let the drops absorb through the mouth, a route that research on melatonin shows can reach the blood at higher levels than swallowing straight down, though this has not been tested for Yu Sleep itself.

How soon does Yu Sleep work?

The vendor's own pages disagree. The sales headline claims results the first night, but the refund page says most people notice a change somewhere between weeks two and four, and a separate claim promises full restoration only after 3 to 6 months. No trial of the product exists to confirm any of these timelines.

Can you take Yu Sleep with other supplements or medications?

Not without checking first. Ingredients in the blend carry real interaction warnings, including serotonergic medicines and carbidopa (5-HTP), blood thinners and epilepsy medicines (melatonin), and certain antibiotics or bisphosphonates (magnesium). See our [Yu Sleep side effects](/yu-sleep-side-effects/) page for the full picture.

How long do you need to try it before asking for a refund?

The vendor's refund policy asks buyers to use it 21 nights in a row and answer 4 questions first, inside the 60-day guarantee window. See our [Yu Sleep refund](/yu-sleep-refund/) page for the full process and what buyers report about it.

Sources

  1. Vendor sales page, directions (getyusleep.com)
  2. Vendor VSL/order page (getyusleep.com/vsl)
  3. Vendor refund policy, hold-in-mouth direction and 21-night trial
  4. Cruz-Sanabria et al. 2024, Melatonin and sleep-promoting properties: dose and timing
  5. Zetner et al. 2016, Pharmacokinetics of alternative administration routes of melatonin
  6. Howatson et al. 2012, Eur J Nutr, tart cherry juice concentrate and sleep
  7. Turner et al. 2006, 5-hydroxytryptophan and serotonin syndrome risk
  8. Foley and Steel 2019, Melatonin and drug interactions
  9. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Magnesium Fact Sheet for Health Professionals
  10. NCCIH, Chamomile