Independent review
5-HTP in Yu Sleep
Yu Sleep's Supplement Facts panel lists 5-HTP, sourced from Griffonia seed extract, as the fifth of seven ingredients inside its undisclosed 637 mg "Proprietary Blend." This page checks what 5-HTP does for sleep, how much of it a serving is likely to hold, and what the safety research says, the kind of ingredient-level detail our Yu Sleep reviews covers for the product as a whole. Three of Yu Sleep's ten listed ingredients, melatonin, vitamin B6 and vitamin B2, carry a stated amount; 5-HTP is one of the seven blend ingredients marked "not disclosed," alongside tart cherry, magnesium glycinate, apigenin, lemon balm, L-theanine and GABA. For the rest of the blend, see the full Yu Sleep ingredients breakdown.
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Disclosed dose | Not disclosed |
| Blend position | 5th of 7 |
| Maximum if listed by weight | About 127 mg |
| Studied range | 50-100 mg/day |
| Evidence strength | Weak |
What 5-HTP does for sleep
5-HTP, short for 5-hydroxytryptophan, is a compound the body can convert toward serotonin, and from there toward melatonin, which is the chemical logic behind including it in a sleep formula. The U.S. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) says 5-HTP and the related compound L-tryptophan "have sedative effects, but it is unclear how they work and there is very limited data on their effects on insomnia." That verdict sits alongside two small adult trials, covered in the next section, not a larger body of insomnia research. Raising a serotonin precursor to help sleep is plausible in principle, since serotonin sits upstream of melatonin in the body's own synthesis pathway, but plausibility is not the same as a demonstrated effect in a sleep trial. 5-HTP is sold on its own as an over-the-counter supplement in doses that commonly range from 50 mg to 300 mg a day, more often marketed for mood or appetite than for sleep specifically.
The evidence for 5-HTP
The dossier rates 5-HTP's evidence for sleep weak, the smallest human evidence base of any ingredient in Yu Sleep's blend that has a named human trial behind it. Two small adult trials make up that evidence.
| Study | Design, n | Dose | Result |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sutanto 2024 | Single-blind, n=30, about 66 years old, control group took nothing | 100 mg/day for 12 weeks | Subjective sleep score improved in poor sleepers only, not in good sleepers |
| Meloni 2022 | RCT crossover, n=18, Parkinson's patients with REM sleep behavior disorder | 50 mg/day for 4 weeks | More REM sleep; reduction in wake after sleep onset (WASO) was "marginal, non-significant" |
| NCCIH insomnia verdict | Review of the existing evidence, not a new trial | Not applicable | "Very limited data" on 5-HTP and L-tryptophan for insomnia |
Neither trial measured waking at 3 AM specifically in a general adult population, and the one trial that did measure overnight waking, Meloni 2022, found no significant change in wake after sleep onset. That null result matches what does Yu Sleep stop 3 AM wakeups reports across the product's other ingredients: no trial of any single component, or of Yu Sleep itself, has shown a reduction in 3 AM waking.
The dose in Yu Sleep vs the study doses
5-HTP's amount in Yu Sleep is not disclosed. If the seven-ingredient blend is listed by descending weight, as U.S. labeling rules require under 21 CFR 101.36(c)(2), 5-HTP sits fifth of seven and could hold at most about 127 mg, the arithmetic ceiling worked out as 637 mg divided by five. That ceiling would be enough to reach the 50 mg to 100 mg range the two human trials used, but nothing on the label confirms the actual amount gets there, and 127 mg is a mathematical ceiling, not a measured amount.
The two trials used doses at opposite ends of that range: Meloni 2022 used 50 mg a day, the lower end, and Sutanto 2024 used 100 mg a day, the higher end. 5-HTP is one of only two blend ingredients, along with L-theanine, where the arithmetic ceiling does not by itself rule out a study-level dose; the other blend ingredients sit lower in the label order and cannot reach their own lowest studied adult dose under the same math.
But the blend's total capacity is the real limit. The lowest studied adult doses of four blend ingredients already use nearly all of the 637 mg:
- Lemon balm, 400 mg a day
- L-theanine, 50 mg a day
- 5-HTP, 50 mg a day
- GABA, 100 mg a day
Those four alone sum to 600 mg, leaving only 37 mg of the blend for tart cherry, magnesium glycinate and apigenin combined. Not all seven blend ingredients can sit at their studied dose at once, so a study-level amount of 5-HTP is arithmetically possible only if the other six ingredients fall well below the doses their own trials used.
Safety and interactions
5-HTP carries a safety flag that none of Yu Sleep's other blend ingredients carry: serotonin syndrome, a condition linked to excess serotonin activity in the body. Maffei's 2020 review of 5-HTP's physiology and toxicology states that "an excess of 5-HTP may be responsible for serotonin syndrome," and nausea has been reported at doses above 100 mg.
The main risk applies to combining 5-HTP with other substances that raise serotonin, which can include:
- Antidepressants, including SSRIs and SNRIs
- Other serotonin-raising supplements or medications
- Doses of 5-HTP above what the sleep trials used
Yu Sleep's label carries no serotonin-syndrome warning and names no source for its 5-HTP beyond "Griffonia seed extract." Separately, extensive analyses of 5-HTP sources have found none of the toxic contaminants linked to the 1989 outbreak of eosinophilia-myalgia syndrome tied to L-tryptophan, so that particular contamination history has not been found in 5-HTP itself. The actual amount of 5-HTP in a bottle of Yu Sleep has not been independently lab-tested, so no specific milligram figure can be verified either way. Anyone taking an antidepressant or another serotonin-affecting medication should discuss 5-HTP with a doctor before use; our Yu Sleep side effects page covers the full safety picture across all ten ingredients.
5-HTP alone vs 5-HTP inside Yu Sleep
A standalone 5-HTP supplement states its milligram amount on the label, so a buyer can check it directly against the 50 mg to 100 mg range the two human sleep trials used. Yu Sleep folds 5-HTP into an undisclosed blend with six other ingredients, tart cherry, magnesium glycinate, apigenin, lemon balm, L-theanine and GABA, so that same check is not possible from the label alone; only the blend's total weight (637 mg) and 5-HTP's position within it (fifth of seven) are known.
That difference reaches beyond 5-HTP. Of Yu Sleep's ten listed ingredients, only melatonin, vitamin B6 and vitamin B2 carry a stated amount; the other seven, including 5-HTP, sit inside the same undisclosed blend. A buyer weighing a plain 5-HTP capsule against Yu Sleep is really weighing a known, checkable dose against an unknown one bundled with six other compounds. No dedicated Yu Sleep comparison page exists for 5-HTP specifically, unlike melatonin and tart cherry, which each have their own comparison page, so this point stays general rather than pointing to a side-by-side that has not been built.
Bottom line
On its own, 5-HTP has weak but real evidence for sleep, resting on two small trials rather than a larger research base, and a genuine safety flag in serotonin syndrome that Yu Sleep's label does not mention. The vendor's own sales letter describes a "326 vs 326" trial from the Journal of Sleep Research and a 23% increase in total sleep time; we could not find either study anywhere, in that journal or elsewhere, and the two real human trials we located are far smaller and less conclusive than those numbers suggest.
Of the 14 buyer reports we could read, 64% report no noticeable effect and 14% report improved sleep, too small and too complaint-heavy a sample to credit or blame any single ingredient in a seven-part blend. That gap between the ad's claims and what the studies actually show is the kind of question what buyers say about Yu Sleep goes through for the product as a whole, alongside the ingredient-by-ingredient checks in the rest of this blend.
Frequently asked questions
How much 5-HTP is in Yu Sleep?
Not disclosed. It is the fifth of seven ingredients in the undisclosed 637 mg Proprietary Blend, which means it could hold at most about 127 mg if the label lists the blend by descending weight, but the amount is never stated on the label.
What does 5-HTP do for sleep?
It is a compound the body can convert toward serotonin. The NCCIH says the evidence on 5-HTP and insomnia is very limited, despite known sedative effects.
Is there any real research on 5-HTP for sleep?
Two small adult trials exist. Thirty older poor sleepers improved on a subjective score after 100 mg a day for 12 weeks with no placebo group (Sutanto 2024), and 18 Parkinson's patients showed more REM sleep but no significant change in nighttime waking after 50 mg a day for 4 weeks (Meloni 2022).
Is 5-HTP safe?
Short-term use in low doses is generally tolerated, but excess 5-HTP, or combining it with other serotonin-raising substances, has been linked to serotonin syndrome, and nausea has been reported above 100 mg. Yu Sleep's label carries no warning about this. See our Yu Sleep side effects page for the full picture.
Does the 326 vs 326 5-HTP study the ad mentions actually exist?
We could not find a trial of that description in the Journal of Sleep Research or anywhere else, and no source exists for the ad's claimed 23% increase in total sleep time. The two real human trials we found are far smaller.
Sources
- Sutanto et al. 2024, 5-HTP supplementation trial in older adults with poor sleep quality
- Meloni et al. 2022, 5-HTP crossover trial in Parkinson's disease patients with REM sleep behavior disorder
- NCCIH, Sleep Disorders and Complementary Health Approaches (5-HTP and L-tryptophan section)
- Maffei 2020, review of 5-hydroxytryptophan occurrence, physiology and toxicology
- eCFR, 21 CFR 101.36(c)(2), dietary supplement ingredient labeling order